Skip Navigation Links

Traveling Lecturers Committee

General Guidelines

Committee Purpose

The Society Traveling Lecturers Committee (TLC) is responsible for soliciting nominations for the Thayer Lindsley Visiting Lecturer and the International Exchange Lecturer positions as described in Article X, Section 10.1(f) on page 19 of the SEG Bylaws.

Committee Composition and Term

The Committee shall consist of nine members, including a Chair, representing the main fields and geographic distribution of Society membership, with three members to be appointed annually each for a three-year term. The Vice President for Regional Affairs (VPRA), as an ex officio member of the committee, shall serve as Chair. The other eight members make up the Thayer Lindsley Visiting Lecturer Sub-Committee and the International Exchange Lecturer Sub-Committee.

Traveling Lecturers Committee Chair Guidelines

The Chair is responsible for the following:

  1. Oversee Thayer Lindsley Visiting Lecturer and International Exchange Lecturer Sub-Committees activities. Keep in close communication with Sub-Committee Chairs to ensure that high-quality speakers are nominated and selected for lectureships.
  2. Work closely with SEG headquarters and Traveling Lecturers Secretary to coordinate lecturer tours and to avoid lecture tour overlap. The VPRA also sits on the Program Committee. This allows close coordination of traveling lecturers with Program commitments (e.g., keynote speakers) to ensure the maximum benefit from traveling lecturers. For this reason, the VPRA will inform all traveling lecturer committee members of upcoming commitments, to help match lecturer to ongoing activities, where possible.
  3. Incorporate Thayer Lindsley Visiting Lecturer and International Exchange Lecturer Sub-Committee reports into an annual Traveling Lecturers Committee report and submit to the Executive Director for Council review and approval.

Guidelines for Determining the Itinerary of SEG Traveling Lecturer Tours

SEG lectureships, while an honor bestowed to recognize an individual’s abilities, are also responsibilities to help SEG to communicate the science of economic geology and to promote SEG activities. For these reasons, the VPRA and the SEG headquarters, in conjunction with the Chair of the Program Committee (the Past Vice President), will determine the itinerary of each tour based on the following criteria:

  1. Meet requests for speakers from SEG members and SEG Student Chapters, as well as other universities and organizations.
  2. Fulfill upcoming SEG Program commitments to provide keynote lecturers to meetings, etc.
  3. Balance the lecture tours among membership locations.
  4. Match the interest and availability of each lecturer with available funds.

In many cases, SEG funding can be offset or stretched by procuring funds from other sources such as an employer. In addition, we request, where possible, that the local host organization cover local expenses such as meals and accommodations. The Traveling Lecturers Secretary, the SEG Executive Assistant, is responsible for coordinating the advertising of talks and the planning of itineraries. He/she can be contacted for more information.

Traveling Lecturers Committee Member Guidelines

See Guidelines for Thayer Lindsley Visiting Lecturer Sub-Committee and International Exchange Lecturer Sub-Committee. Committee members who provide nominations must declare that they are free from any conflicts of interest.

Critical Dates/Schedules

The recommendations of the Sub-Committees, together with supporting data, should reach the Executive Director no later than September 30 each year. The Executive Director will duplicate the supporting material and distribute it to the Council for action at its first meeting following the September 30 date (traditionally at the GSA Annual Meeting).

Last revision: December 2002