Skip Navigation Links

Medals & Awards


Presentation of awards for excellence is an important SEG activity.
Learn how to nominate for Medals & Awards.Information at bottom of page.

Christoph A. HeinrichR.A.F. Penrose Gold Medal

2017 recipient, Christoph A. Heinrich

The Society's most prestigious award, the R.A.F. Penrose Gold Medal, was established in 1923 and is awarded in recognition of a full career in the performance of outstanding work in the earth sciences.

Qualifications and past recipients

Karen D. KelleySEG Silver Medal

2017 recipient, Karen D. Kelley

The SEG Silver Medal is awarded annually to recipients in mid-career for excellence in original work in the geology of mineral deposits.

Qualifications and past recipients

François RobertRalph W. Marsden Award

2017 recipient, François Robert

The Ralph W. Marsden Award is given annually for exceptional stewardship and contributions to Society affairs.

Qualifications and past recipients

Pilar Lecumberri SanchezWaldemar Lindgren Award

2017 recipient, Pilar Lecumberri Sanchez

The Waldemar Lindgren Award is given annually to an individual under the age of 37 in recognition of published research that represents an outstanding contribution to economic geology.

Qualifications and past recipients

Daohan ZhangBrian J. Skinner Award

2017 recipient, Daohan Zhang

The Brian J. Skinner Award is presented annually to the author(s) of an outstanding paper published in Economic Geology, as decided by committee and ratified by Council.

Read the Paper.

Qualifications and past recipients

How to Nominate for Medals & Awards

Application deadline is July 15th of the current year.

To ensure consideration by the SEG Awards Committee and the SEG Council, please download and complete the Award Nomination Form. Candidates representing each of the three components of SEG membership—industry, government, and academia—are solicited.

Members and Fellows of the Society are urged to participate in this important process by nominating outstanding candidates for this prestigious honor. A nomination must be supported by signed letters from three SEG Fellows or Members. Supporting letters may accompany the nomination form or they can be sent separately to the SEG Awards Committee. The deadline for receipt of Medal & Award nominations by the SEG Awards Committee is July 15th of the calendar year. Nominations and supporting letters should be sent via the following methods:

E-mail (preferred):

Fax: +1 (720) 981-7874

Society of Economic Geologists, Inc.
Attn: SEG Awards Committee
7811 Shaffer Parkway
Littleton, CO 80127-3732 USA