Skip Navigation Links

Inactive Student Chapters

The Society of Economic Geologists (SEG) Student Chapters seek to bring together like minded individuals interested in better understanding our resource-rich environment and the minerals it contains. The SEG encourages the formation of such Student Chapters to help promote the Society's objectives, firstly by advancing the study of mineral deposits and applying geological science to exploration, evaluation, and production, and secondly by disseminating scientific information through publications, courses, meetings and field trips. Student Chapters are the key to linking students with other students and with professional geoscientists in industry, academia, and government.

The SEG has Student Chapters in 27 countries. Please visit the Operations Guidelines page for more information on:

  • Forming a new SEG Student Chapter
  • Activating a dormant Student Chapter
  • Applying for Student Chapter funding
  • Operational Guidelines for Student Chapters
  • Student Chapter forms

You may contact us at studentprograms@segweb.org for further assistance.


Click on the university name for contact details. View a list of active Chapters


Inactive

Australian National University

Est. 2009

Research School of Earth Sciences
Canberra ACT 0200
Australia

Phone: +61 (0)2 6125 3678
Fax: +61 (0)2 6125 5544

Academic Advisor: Dr. John Mavrogenes | john.mavrogenes@anu.edu.au
Industry Advisor: Dr. Neil Williams | margneil@grapevine.com.au

Chapter Website: N/A


Inactive

Durham University

Est. 2008

Department of Earth Sciences Science Laboratories
Durham DH1 3LE
United Kingdom

Phone: +44.191.334.2294
Fax: +44.191.334.2301

Academic Advisor: Dr. David M. Selby | david.selby@durham.ac.uk
Industry Advisor: Professor Graham Pearson, University of Alberta | gdpearso@ualberta.ca

Chapter Website: N/A


Inactive

Kyiv National University

Est. 2005

Geological Department
Vasyl'kivska st 90A
Kyiv 03022
Ukraine

Phone: +380.44.206.34.30
Fax: +380.44.285.72.98

Academic Advisor: Professor Vasyl Guliy | vgul@ukr.net


Inactive

Moscow State Geological Prospecting University

Est. 2004

Moscow, Russia

Academic Advisor: N/A
Industry Advisor: N/A

Chapter Website: N/A


Inactive

St. Mary's University

Est. 2000

Department of Geology
923 Robie St.
Halifax, NS B3H 3C3
Canada

Phone: (902) 491-6334

Academic Advisor: Dr. Jacob Hanley | jacob.hanley@smu.ca

Chapter Website: N/A

  •  

Inactive

Universidad Catolica del Norte

Est. 2007

Depto Ciencias Geologicas
Avenida Angamos 0610
Antofagasta
Chile

Academic Advisor: Dr. Eduardo Campos Sepúlveda | edcampos@ucn.cl
Industry Advisor: Jose Perello | jperello@aminerals.cl

Chapter Website: N/A


Inactive

Universidade de Lisboa

Est. 2008

Faculdade de Ciencias
Edificio C6 - Piso 4 - Campo Grande
Lisboa 1749-016
Portugal

Phone: +351.1.750.0000
Fax: +351.1.750.0119

Academic Advisor: Dr. Fernando J. Barriga | f.barriga@fc.ul.pt
Industry Advisor: Delfin de Carvalho | d.carvalho@mail.telepac.pt

Chapter Website: N/A
Chapter E-mail: seg.fcul@gmail.com


Inactive

University of Alberta

Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Tory Room 3-16
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E3
Canada

Phone: 780-492-3430 (messages: 3265)
Fax: 780-492-2030

Academic Advisor: Dr. Jeremy P. Richards | jeremy.richards@ualberta.ca

Chapter Website: N/A


Inactive

University of California Berkeley

Est. 1998

Department of Geology
Earth Resources Center
Berkeley, California 94720-4767
U.S.A.

Phone: +1 (510) 232-2194
Fax: +1 (510) 235-2821

Academic Advisor: Dr. Jacob Hanley | jacob.hanley@smu.ca
Academic Advisor: Dr. George Brimhall | brimhall@socrates.berkeley.edu

Chapter Website: N/A

  •  

Inactive

University of Georgia

Est. 2013

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Geology
Athens, GA 30602-2501
U.S.A.

Phone: +1 (706) 542-2652
Fax: +1 (706) 542-2425

Academic Advisor: Douglas E. Crowe | crowe@gly.uga.edu
Industry Advisor: James A. Saunders | saundja@auburn.edu

Chapter Website: N/A


Inactive

University of Papua New Guinea (UPNG)

Est. 2010

Earth Sciences Division
Upper Level, Sc.3 Bldg., Waigani Campus
P.O. Box 414, University 134
Port Moresby, NCD

Phone: +675.3267.173
Fax: +675.326.0369

Academic Advisor: Dr. Joseph O. Espi | joespi@upng.ac.pg

Academic Advisor: Dr. Hugh L. Davies | hadvies@upng.ac.pg
Industry Advisor: Craig J. McEwan | cmcewan@barrick.com

Chapter Website: N/A


Inactive

University of Venda South Africa (UNIVEN)

Est. 2008

EGRI School of Geosciences
Private Bag 3 Wits
Johannesburg, Gauteng 2050
South Africa

Phone: +27.11.717.6583
Fax: +27.11.717.6579

Academic Advisor: Professor Judith A. Kinnaird | judith.kinnaird@wits.ac.za

Industry Advisor: Mr. Keith Scott | keiths@msagroupservices.com

Chapter Website: N/A

  •  

Inactive

University of Victoria

Est. 1999

School of Earth and Ocean Sciences
P.O. Box 3055 STN CSC
Victoria, BC V8W 3P6
Canada

Phone: 250.721.6120
Fax: 250.721.6200/p>

Academic Advisor: Dr. David B. Lefebure | lefebure@uvic.ca

Chapter Website: N/A

  •  

Inactive

Washington State University and University of Idaho (Combined Chapter)

Est. 1988

Washington State University

Department of Geology
P.O. Box 642812
Pullman, Washington 99164-2812
U.S.A.

Phone: 250.721.6120
Fax: 250.721.6200

University of Idaho
Department of Geology
Moscow, Idaho 83843
U.S.A.

Chapter Website: N/A

  •