If you can read this text, your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets. Although not essential for using this CD-ROM, you may wish to upgrade your browser to a more recent version.

Presentations from the SEG 2014 Conference
can be purchased at the SEG Store.

Oral Presentations

Student presentation titles are denoted with an asterisk(*)

Micro-analytical innovation for diamonds exploration and beyond

Paul D. Agnew, Rio Tinto Exploration, paul.agnew@riotinto.com

Epizonal overprinting of mesozonal orogenic gold systems: Relating crustal exhumation and Yukon’s gold endowment

Murray M. Allan, Mineral Deposit Research Unit, mallan@eos.ubc.ca

Boliden’s Garpenberg Zn-Pb-Ag mine, Sweden - Critical factors behind the discoveries that turned mine closure into a large expansion project

Rodney L. Allen, Boliden Group, Rodney.Allen@boliden.com

Finding the blind: targeting carbonate-hosted deposits using stable isotopes

Shaun L. L. Barker, University of Waikato, sbarker@waikato.ac.nz

Data mining – a powerful tool for exploring under cover in mature districts

Colin T. Barnett, BW Mining, colin@bwmining.com

Contrasting footprints and characteristics of IOCG-type and porphryry-type hydrothermal systems related to episodic Mesozoic arc magmatism in coastal northern Chile

Mark D. Barton, University of Arizona, mdbarton@email.arizona.edu

Discovery of the Nuevo Chaquiro porphyry Cu-Au-(Mo) deposit, Antioquia Department, Colombia

Paul Bartos, AngloGold Ashanti, pbartos@anglogoldashantina.com

The chonolith Ni-Cu model: expanding the footprint of Ni-Cu deposits and chasing weaknesses in the Nickel mineral system model

Steve W. Beresford, First Quantum Minerals, Steve.Beresford@fqml.com

The physical and tectonic setting of Andean high-sulfidation epithermal gold-silver deposits and what it means for mineralizing processes and exploration targeting

Thomas Bissig, Mineral Deposit Research Unit, Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, tbissig@eos.ubc.ca

The Abitibi breaks: Syn-orogenic extensional faults inverted as thick-skinned thrusts

Wouter Bleeker, Geological Survey of Canada, wbleeker@nrcan.gc.ca

Generation of porphyry copper deposits by gas-brine reaction in volcanic arcs

Jon D. Blundy, University of Bristol, jon.blundy@bris.ac.uk

Copper isotopic vectors to supergene enrichment: Leached cap isotopic footprint of the Quellaveco porphyry copper deposit, southern Peru

David P Braxton, Anglo American, dave.braxton@angloamerican.com

Syn-tectonic formation of giant porphyry copper and intrusion-related ore deposits in linear belts by decompression fluid saturation of regularly spaced diapiric plutons ascending fault ramps within the anticlinal hinge of the frontal cordilleran fold and thrust belt

George H. Brimhall Jr., University of California, Berkeley, brimhall@berkeley.edu

Investigation of the Quartz-Gold Interface Utilizing Electron Microscopy*

Michelle Burke, Miami University, burkeml2@miamioh.edu

Geology and Discovery History of the Chukaru Peki Cu-Au deposit, Timok Magmatic Complex, Serbia

Vertrees "Mac" M. Canby, Freeport McMoRan Exploration Corporation, mcanby@fmi.com

Porphyry copper supergene enrichment: The relationship between the formation of pediments and sea level changes in southern Peru

Víctor Carlotto, Universidad Nacional San Antonio Abad del Cusco, Instituto Geológico Minero y Metalurgico-INGEMMET, vcarlotto@ingemmet.gob.pe

Discovery history of the Sakatti Cu-Ni-PGE deposit, Finland

Jim Coppard, Jim Coppard Consultant Geologist, jim.coppard@btinternet.com

Volcanostratigraphic controls on the occurrence of massive sulfide deposits in the Semail ophiolite, Oman

Larryn W. Diamond, Institute of Geological Sciences, University of Bern, diamond@geo.unibe.ch

Mafic magma contributions to arc-related porphyry ore deposits

Adrian Fiege, University of Michigan; Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, afiege@umich.edu

Tectonic architecture of ca. 1.60-1.57 Ga IOCG mineralisation in Australia

Caroline J. Forbes, DET CRC, University of Adelaide, caroline.forbes@adelaide.edu.au

Discoveries of Fresnillo Plc: The Silver Giant in Mexico

David A. Giles, Fresnillo PLC, david_giles@fresnilloplc.com

Pulsed intrusive events, magma mixing, and mineralization of the Don Manuel porphyry copper system, central Chile*

Amy K. Gilmer, University of Bristol, amy.gilmer@bristol.ac.uk

Orogenic gold systems in the Andes of South America

Steffen Hagemann and G. Hagemann, UWA-CET, steffen.hagemann@uwa.edu.au

Ore formation drives ore extraction: Economic geology is the foundation for geomet

Karin Olson Hoal, Colorado School of Mines, khoal@mines.edu

Improved interface designs for automated analysis of potential field data

Eun-Jung HOLDEN, The Centre for Exploration Targeting, The University of Western Australia, eun-jung.holden@uwa.edu.au

Geology and discovery of Escondida Este porphyry Cu-Mo Deposit, Escondida cluster district, northern Chile

Marco Ipinza, Minera Escondida Ltda, marco.ma.ipinza@bhpbilliton.com

Porphyry copper deposits in China: Spatial – temporal distribution and their tectonic settings

Institute of Mineral Resources Jingwen Mao, Chiese Academy of Geological Sciences, jingwenmao@263.net

Sources of reduced sulfur, early diagenesis, and fine laminae in the currently forming metalliferous sediment of the brine-covered Atlantis II Deep, Red Sea*

Tea E. Laurila, 1) University of Ottawa, 2)Â Geomar - Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, laurilatea@gmail.com

Jurassic gold metallogeny in the Colombian Andes

Hildebrando Leal-Mejía, Mineral Deposit Research Unit (MDRU) - UBC, hlealmej@eos.ubc.ca

Widespread euxinic conditions are not a prerequisite for sedimentary exhalative mineralization in the Selwyn Basin, Canada*

Joseph M. Magnall, University of Alberta, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, magnall@ualberta.ca

Controls on the formation of a large Zn-Pb Irish-type deposit: Evidence from the Navan halo*

Freya R. Marks, University College Dublin, fmarks21@gmail.com

Curvature attribute from surface-restoration as predictor variable in Kupferschiefer copper potentials: An example from the Fore-Sudetic Region, Poland*

Pablo Mejia-Herrera, Universite de Lorraine, Géoressources, UMR 7359, mejia.pablo@gmail.com

Geochemical alteration footprint of the Eskay Creek sulfide and sulfosalt deposit, British Columbia*

Tom Meuzelaar, Colorado School of Mines, Tom_Meuzelaar@golder.com

Duration and dynamics of orogenic-type gold deposits

Steven Micklethwaite, Centre for Exploration Targeting (M006), steven.micklethwaite@uwa.edu.au

Gold metallogeny of northwestern Iberia: Superimposed orogenic and intrusion-related mineralization in an evolving Variscan Orogen

James K Mortensen, Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences, University of British Columbia, jmortensen@eos.ubc.ca

Core orientation – data QC as a key to discovery

Russell E. Myers, Corvus Gold Inc., rmyers@corvusgold.com

Structural, mineralogical, geochemical and petrophysical characterization of mafic dykes: A key to define the Canadian Malartic gold deposit footprint

Stéphane Perrouty, Western University, sperrout@uwo.ca

Structural controls on the emplacement of porphyry systems: the case of the Rio Blanco-Los Bronces cluster, Andes of Central Chile*

Jose Piquer, CODES, University of Tasmania, jose.piquerromo@utas.edu.au

Proterozoic basement structures and thermogenic sulfate reduction-derived H2S as key controls on economic Laisvall-type Pb-Zn deposits, eastern erosional front of the Scandinavian Caledonides, Sweden*

Nicolas J.D. Saintilan, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Geneva, nicolas.saintilan@unige.ch

Metal Mobility and Hydrothermal Alteration within the Kevitsa Ni-Cu-PGE deposit, Lapland Finland

Frank Santaguida, First Quantum Minerals Limited, Frank.Santaguida@fqml.com

Textural and isotopic evidence for metallic nanoparticles in bonanza epithermal ores

James A. Saunders, Dept. of Geology and Geography, saundja@auburn.edu

The role of organizational culture and its link to strategy in mineral exploration management

Eric Seedorff, Lowell Institute for Mineral Resources, Department of Geosciences, University of Arizona, seedorff@email.arizona.edu

Contemporaneous alkaline lamproites and carbonatites in the Kalmakyr and Muruntau ore districts, Tienshan, Uzbekistan: Mantle contribution for the formation of giant ore deposits

Reimar Seltmann, Natural History Museum, CERCAMS, R.Seltmann@nhm.ac.uk

Multiple Sulfur Isotope Geochemistry of Au-rich systems of the southern Abitibi subprovince, Québec, Canada

Elizabeth R. Sharman, Earth and Planetary Sciences, McGill University, libbysh@gmail.com

Mineral systems and area selection: Application to IOCG, Ni and other mineral systems in Australia

Roger G. Skirrow, Geoscience Australia, roger.skirrow@ga.gov.au

Mesoproterozoic iron oxide-apatite and iron oxide-copper-gold-rare earth element deposits of southeast Missouri, USA: Geology, geophysics, and exploration potential

John F. Slack, U.S. Geological Survey, jfslack@usgs.gov

Volcanic processes in the formation porphyry copper deposits

Stephen R.J. Sparks, University of Bristol UK, Steve.Sparks@bristol.ac.uk

An innovative structural hypothesis established during target generation for gold and copper mineralisation in the Cobar district, NSW Australia

Lize Stander, Newgold, lize.stander@newgold.com

Ore metal extraction during magma crystallization: A dynamic experimental approach

Brian C. Tattitch, University of Bristol School of Earth Sciences, Brian.Tattitch@bristol.ac.uk

Examples of seismic signatures of large mineral systems

Greg Turner, HiSeis, g.turner@hiseis.com

Chlorite chemistry as an exploration tool in the propylitic halo of porphyry-epithermal systems: A case study of the Batu Hijau porphyry Cu-Au system, Indonesia

Jamie J. Wilkinson, CODES and Imperial College London, j.wilkinson@nhm.ac.uk

Using Multi-Element Geochemistry to Map Multiple Components of a Mineral System.  Case study from a sediment hosted Cu-Ni camp, NW Province, Zambia

David Wood, First Quantum Minerals Ltd, David.Wood@fqml.com

Mesoproterozoic carbonatitic magmatism in the Bayan Obo deposit, Inner Mongolia, North China: Constraints for the mechanism of super accumulation of rare earth elements

Kuifeng Yang, Institute of Geology and Geophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, yangkuifeng@mail.iggcas.ac.cn