Webinar Series (Archive)

Economic Geology in the COVID-19 Pandemic: Panel Discussions

December 2-3, 2020

Description

Event Image

The global COVID-19 pandemic has introduced new obstacles to the world of economic geology. In this webinar, we host two panels of professors and industry professionals to discuss what these unprecedented challenges are and discuss what strategies were implemented to overcome such hurdles. With potential second waves of COVID-19 and ambiguity on when the pandemic will end, such discussions are important to stay positive by discussing methods of safely advancing our industry.

The webinar is targeted for students and early career professionals but can serve as a useful overview for all professionals in the field.


Live Panel Discussion: Impacts on Industry

Wednesday, December 2, 2020, 5:00pm MST (Thursday, December 3, 2020, 0:00pm UTC)

A panel of industry professionals will engage in topics regarding the impact of COVID-19 on the mineral resources industry, such as changes in exploration fieldwork, mining activity, and the job market.

Speakers

Headshot

Timothy MacIntyre
(Event Host)

Biography

Headshot

Susan Lomas

Biography

Headshot

Joaquin Copaja

Biography

Headshot

Erika Sweeney

Biography

Headshot

Zachary Palmer

Biography

Watch the Webinar

This and all other free webinars are available at the SEG YouTube Channel.


Live Panel Discussion: Impacts on Academia

Thursday, December 3, 2020, 9:00am MST (Thursday, December 3, 2020, 16:00pm UTC)

A panel of university professors will discuss topics, including research, teaching, and student life in a global pandemic.

Speakers

Headshot

Isaac Simon
(Event Host)

Biography

Headshot

Katharina Pfaff

Biography

Headshot

Murray Hitzman

Biography

Headshot

Irene del Real

Biography

Headshot

Hannah Hughes

Biography

Watch the Webinar

This and all other free webinars are available at the SEG YouTube Channel.

When
12/2/2020