SEG Distinguished Lecturer

The SEG Distinguished Lecturer is selected on the basis of preeminence in economic geology, either on some phase of scientific research or on the application of the science to minerals exploration and/or development. One or two lectures are presented at regularly scheduled SEG conferences. This lecturer may or may not be available to accept additional requests.

Christoph A. HeinrichChristoph A. Heinrich

(SEG 1990 F)

  Talk Titles

  • Fluid Evolution and Selective Metal Enrichment in Magmatic-Hydrothermal Cu-Au Ore Systems
  • Physical Hydrology and High-Precision Zircon Petrochronology of Porphyry Copper Systems
  • Archean Gold: Lode Deposits, Silver Isotopes, Magmatic Degassing, and Early Life on the Kaapvaal Craton


After his early studies in Alpine geology and high-pressure metamorphic petrology at ETH Zurich (Switzerland), Chris Heinrich moved to Australia to develop his interests in economic geology with Comalco, the Commonwealth of Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), and Geoscience Australia. Down under, he learned the basics of fluid inclusion and stable isotope research with studies of Sn-W veins and the metasediment-hosted copper deposit of Mount Isa and a stint into experimental hydrothermal geochemistry at the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) in Wellington (New Zealand). In 1994 he was appointed Professor of Mineral Resources at ETH Zurich, where he has since built a teaching and research group investigating processes of hydrothermal ore formation by combining field geology with the development of quantitative analysis of fluid inclusions, high-precision geochronology and numerical modeling of the chemistry and physics of fluid-rock interaction (link). His students and collaborators have become successful explorationists, academic teachers, and researchers in fields extending well beyond his own. Chris was the first recipient of the Paul Niggi Medal (1988), served as Associate Editor for Economic Geology and other international journals, and was a Council member for SEG and the Society for Geology Applies to Mineral Deposits (SGA). In 2006 he was awarded the SEG Silver Medal, and in 2017 he was honored with the SEG R.A.F. Penrose Gold Medal.


Check back in early 2019 when a new lecturer will be announced.