Thayer Lindsley Visiting Lecturer

The Thayer Lindsley Visiting Lecturer is selected on the basis of widely recognized expertise in a field of economic geology. Lecture sites will be primarily at colleges and universities having geologic programs related to mineral resources.

John H. DillesJohn H. Dilles

(SEG 1987 F)

  Talk Titles

  • Tops and Bottoms of Porphyry Copper Deposits Revisited: From Source Magmas to the Lithocap Alteration Zones.
  • Magmatic Processes that Produce Porphyry Copper Deposits: From Batholith Formation to Anhydrite, Apatite, and Zircon Mineralogy.
  • Using the Zonation of Trace Metal Geochemistry and Hydrothermal Mineralogy for Porphyry Copper Mineral Exploration.
  • Structural Geology of Porphyry Copper Deposits from Regional Tectonic Setting to Vein Formation.


John was born in California and earned B.S. and M.S. degrees in geology from Caltech, California, and a Ph.D. degree in geology from Stanford University, California (1984). In the 1980s he worked as exploration geologist in the western USA for Hunt, Ware, and Proffett and other companies and operated small gold mines with his brother, Peter. He joined the faculty of the Oregon State University in 1986, where he is currently Professor of Geology in the College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences. He advises graduate students and teaches courses in mineralogy, petrology-geochemistry, field geology, and minerals deposits. His research has been conducted in the USA and the South American and Canadian Cordillera and focuses on the geology of porphyry copper deposits, magmatic processes that generate metal and sulfur-bearing hydrothermal fluids, field-based structural geology, and isotopic tracers and geochronology. He is a Fellow and Silver Medalist of the Society of Economic Geologists, Fellow of the Geological Society of America, and past chair of the Minerals and Energy Section of Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities, where he has advocated for federal support of U.S. universities.


Check back in early 2019 when a new lecturer will be announced.