SEG Silver Medal

The SEG Silver Medal was established in 1980 and may be awarded annually, but no less frequently than once every three years, for "excellence in original work in the geology of mineral deposits," which shall be broadly interpreted to encompass outstanding contributions to (a) the geology of mineral deposits, (b) the application of the science to minerals exploration, discovery, and/or mine development, and (c) the development of exploration technology. The award will be considered primarily in recognition of excellence by or during the awardee's mid-career. A nominee for this medal need not be a member of the Society.

Visit the Medals and Awards page for nominating instructions.

Past Recipients

Year Name
2016 John H. Dilles
2015 Jeremy P. Richards
2014 Stuart F. Simmons
2013 David R. Cooke
2012 José Perelló
2011 François Robert
2010 Ross R. Large
2009 Lawrence D. Meinert
2008 Mark D. Hannington
2007 Robert J. Bodnar
2006 Christoph A. Heinrich
2005 Holly J. Stein
2004 John J. Gurney
2003 John M. Proffett
2002 Richard H. Sillitoe
2001 Richard J. Goldfarb
2000 Jeffrey W. Hedenquist
1999 Murray W. Hitzman
1998 Donald A. Singer
1997 W. E. L. Minter
1995 Steven D. Scott
1994 Hiroshi Ohmoto
1993 Marco T. Einaudi
1991 Robert O. Rye
1990 David I. Groves
1989 Shunso Ishihara
1988 Carl R. Anhaeusser
1987 Julian J. Hemley
1986 Roy Woodall
1985 Richard W. Hutchinson
1984 Donald F. Sangster
1983 James D. Lowell
1982 Anthony J. Naldrett
1981 Brian J. Skinner