Waldemar Lindgren Award

The Waldemar Lindgren Award is offered annually to a young scientist whose published research represents an outstanding contribution to economic geology. The award which consists of a citation, dues-free membership in the Society, and travel to annual SEG Conference for the presentation, is not restricted to the candidate's nationality, place of employment, or membership in the Society. The award is given for contributions to economic geology from any subdiscipline of geology (including, among others, structural geology, mineralogy, environmental geology, hydrology, petrology, geochemistry, stratigraphy, geophysics, and mine geology). Originally awarded for excellence in research by a student, the award, beginning in 1972, is awarded for research in economic geology published before the author's 35th birthday. The awardee must be less than 37 years of age on January 1 of the year in which the award is presented. Any SEG member in good standing may nominate candidates for this award. Nominees who are not selected in their first year of nomination, but are still eligible will be considered for awards in following years.

Visit the Medals and Awards page for nominating instructions.

Past Recipients

Year Name
2017 Pilar Lecumberri Sanchez
2016 Sophie M. Decrée
2015 Zoltan Zajacz
2014 Simon M. Jowitt
2013 Shaun L.L. Barker
2012 Martin M. Reich
2011 Patrick Mercier-Langevin
2010 Brian G. Rusk
2009 Iain K. Pitcairn
2008 Andrew G. Tomkins
2007 Sarah A. Gleeson
2006 Thomas Monecke
2005 Stephen J. Piercey
2004 Anthony C. Harris
2003 Werner E. Halter
2002 Timothy Baker
2001 Jens Gutzmer
2000 Jacob B. Lowenstern
1999 Graham Pearson
1998 Steffen Hagemann
1997 Hiroshi Shinohara
1996 Mark D. Hannington
1995 Jeremy Richards
1994 Geoffrey S. Plumlee
1993 Naomi Oreskes
1992 Mark Barton
1991 Kevin L. Shelton
1990 Francois Robert
1989 Michael A. McKibben
1988 Dimitri A. Sverjenski
1987 Craig M. Bethke
1986 Robert J. Bodnar
1985 E.T.C. Spooner
1984 Mark H. Reed
1983 Ross R. Large
1982 David Crerar
1981 Neil Williams
1980 George H. Brimhall
1978 M.J. Viljoen / R.P. Viljoen
1977 Steven D. Scott
1976 Dan Rye
1975 Richard H. Sillitoe
1973 Robert O. Rye
1972 George H. Davis
1971 Alexander C. Brown
1969 Hiroshi Ohmoto
1968 Wallace H. MacLean
1967 Travis H. Hughes
1965 Louis J. Cabri
1964 Robin Brett
1962 Lewis B. Gustafson