Economic Geology

SEG members can read, research, and save papers from the journal via GeoScienceWorld (GSW), which hosts the journal as part of an aggregate of geoscience journals, permitting libraries and other organizations to access an integrated group of publications at reasonable cost.

Access at GSW   Sign up for alerts

Free Issue Submit Manuscript

The journal, now published semi-quarterly, was first published in 1905 by the Economic Geology Publishing Company (PUBCO), a not-for-profit company established for the purpose of publishing a periodical devoted to economic geology. On the founding of SEG in 1920, a cooperative arrangement between PUBCO and SEG made the journal the official organ of the Society, and PUBCO agreed to carry the Society's name on the front cover under the heading "Bulletin of the Society of Economic Geologists". PUBCO and SEG continued to operate as cooperating but separate entities until 2001, when the Board of Directors of PUBCO and the Council of SEG, by unanimous consent, approved a formal agreement of merger. The former activities of the PUBCO Board of Directors are now carried out by a Publications Board, a new self-governing unit within SEG.

The paper "Discovery, Geology, and Origin of the Fruta del Norte Epithermal Gold-Silver Deposit, Southeastern Ecuador" published in the August 2016 issue of Economic Geology is a landmark presentation focusing on the basic tools of the economic-exploration geologist: geologic mapping, sampling, and a creative analysis of the resulting data. With an emphasis on hands-on, practical exploration tools, this approach will motivate other field-oriented geologists to submit manuscripts for publication in the journal.

Read the Abstract

Ken Brook in the field

Ken Brook (SEG 2007 M)
Desert Ventures, Inc.

SEG Editorial Board

NameCityCountryTerm StartTerm End
David R. CookeHobartAustralia20172021
Anthony A. LongoTetoniaUnited States20202021
Lucas J. MarshallVancouverCanada20172021
Adam C. SimonAnn ArborUnited States20172021
Anthony E. Williams-JonesMontrealCanada20172021
Shaun L. L. BarkerVancouverCanada20182022
Zhaoshan ChangGoldenUnited States20182022
Cyril Chelle-MichouZurichSwitzerland20202022
Stephen J. PierceySt. John'sCanada20182022
Andrew G. TomkinsClaytonAustralia20202022
Massimo ChiaradiaGenevaSwitzerland20192023
Sarah A. GleesonPotsdamGermany20192023
David A. JohnMenlo ParkUnited States20192023
Paul G. SpryAmesUnited States20192023
Jamie J. WilkinsonLondonUnited Kingdom20192023
Andreas AudetatBayreuthGermany20202024
David W. BroughtonWest VancouverCanada20202024
Simon M. JowittLas VegasUnited States20202024
Gleb S. PokrovskiToulouseFrance20202024
David SelbyDurhamUnited Kingdom20202024
Elizabeth C. TurnerSudburyCanada20202024
Anton ChakhmouradianWinnipegCanada20212025
Jonathan CloutierHobartAustralia20212025
Christopher J. M. LawleyOttawaCanada20212025
Katie McFallBicesterUnited Kingdom20212025
Martin ReichSantiagoChile20212025

SEG Editors

NamePositionTerm StartTerm End
Lawrence MeinertEconomic Geology Editor2008 
Mark D. HanningtonEconomic Geology Editor20012008
Marco T. EinaudiEconomic Geology Editor19952001
Brian J. SkinnerEconomic Geology Editor19691995
Alan M. BatemanEconomic Geology Editor19171969
J D. IrvingEconomic Geology Editor19051917
Alice BouleyManaging Editor
Laura DollGraphic Design
Myra L. HolmesAssistant Editor
Karen D. KelleyBook Review Editor
Mabel PetersonProduction Editor
Robert R. Seal, IIInteresting Papers Editor