About the Society

The Society of Economic Geologists, Inc., (SEG) is an international organization of individual members with interests in the field of economic geology. The Society's membership includes representatives from industry, academia, and government institutions. Annual conferences, field trips, short courses, and publications ensure an active communication of economic geology-related concepts within the membership and with the economic geology profession at large. An individual may apply for membership as a Fellow, Member, or Student Member.


SEG originated from a 1919 gathering of a group of Geological Society of America (GSA) members who were especially interested in economic geology. The Society was established on December 28, 1920, during a constituting meeting of 60 distinguished professionals, including A.M. Bateman, W.H. Emmons, L.C. Graton, J.F. Kemp, A.C. Lawson, W. Lindgren, R.A.F. Penrose, Jr., R.H. Sales, J.E. Spurr, and H.V. Winchell. Today the Society consists of more than 5,500 members residing in over 100 countries throughout the world.


  • To advance the science of geology through the scientific investigation of mineral deposits and mineral resources and the application thereof to exploration, mineral resource appraisal, mining, and mineral extraction.
  • To disseminate basic and applied scientific information arising from investigations of mineral deposits and mineral resources through SEG conferences, field trips, short courses, workshops, traveling lectures, and publications.
  • To advance the status of the profession of economic geology, and to maintain a high professional and ethical standard among its members.


Both professional and student members have access to a network of fellow explorationists and essential research material—invaluable assets in today's demanding employment market. Society membership ensures early alerts and discounted rates for hands-on courses and publications designed to enhance one's skill set and knowledge base. Learn more about the benefits of membership.


The policies of SEG are formulated by a Council and Executive Committee, with implementation by an appointed Executive Director.

The Executive Committee consists of the following: President (Committee Chair), President-Elect, Past President, Vice President for Regional Affairs, Publications Board Chair, and Treasurer. The Executive Director is an ex officio non-voting member of the Executive Committee.

The Council consist of the following: President, President-Elect, Past President, Vice President for Regional Affairs, Vice President for Student Affairs, Treasurer, Publications Board Chair, Councilors (x9), President of the Society of Economic Geologists Foundation, as an ex officio voting member of the Council, and Executive Director, as an ex officio non-voting member of the Council.

The nine Councilors are responsible for nominating candidates for SEG Medals and Awards, with final recipients selected by Council.

The nine Councilors are also the nine members of the SEG Foundation (SEGF).

Separate Society committees recommend candidates for awards and lectureships.

SEG Position Statements