R.A.F. Penrose Gold Medal

The R.A.F. Penrose Gold Medal was established in 1923 to be awarded primarily in recognition of a full career in the performance of "unusually original work in the earth sciences," which shall be broadly interpreted to encompass major contributions to (a) the science through research, (b) the profession through teaching, program administration, and development of exploration technology, and (c) the development of mineral resources through mine geology, exploration, and discovery.

The medal may be awarded annually, but no less frequently than once every three years. A nominee for this honor need not be a member of the Society. Visit the Medals and Awards page for nominating instructions.

Past Recipients

NameYear Received
Richard J. Goldfarb2023
Ross R. Large2022
Lawrence M. Cathles, III2021
Richard H. Sibson2020
Awards not presented this year2019
Anthony E. Williams-Jones2018
Christoph A. Heinrich2017
Steven D. Scott2016
Richard H. Sillitoe2015
James M. Franklin2014
Noel C. White2013
Robert O. Rye2012
Robert M. Kerrich2011
David L. Leach, Jr.2010
David I. Groves2009
Marco T. Einaudi2008
Michael Solomon2007
Stephen E. Kesler2006
Brian J. Skinner2005
Richard W. Hutchinson2004
J. David Lowell2003
Anthony J. Naldrett2002
Hubert L. Barnes2001
Alberto Benavides Quintana2000
J Julian Hemley1999
John M. Guilbert1998
Spencer R. Titley1997
Heinrich D. Holland1995
Paul B. Barton1994
Richard L. Stanton1993
Donald E. White1992
William C. Kelly1991
Desmond A. Pretorius1989
Edwin W. Roedder1988
Duncan R. Derry1987
Eugene N. Cameron1985
Charles W. Meyer1982
Paul Ramdohr1978
Harold L. James1976
Charles A. Anderson1974
Haddon F. King1971
Guilbert H. Cady1968
Thomas S. Lovering1965
Alan M. Bateman1962
John S. Brown1959
D F. Hewett1956
Paul F. Fourmarier1952
L C. Graton1950
Bert S. Butler1947
Walter C. Mendenhall1944
William H. Emmons1942
Reno H. Sales1939
Charles K. Leith1935
Louis de Launay1933
David White1931
Waldemar Lindgren1928
J.H.L. Vogt1928
Thomas C. Chamberlain1924